Soy Sauce Halal?


As-Salaamu alaiykum wr wb,
Is soy sauce halal? I was informed by a producer that all soy sauce contains a small amount of alcohol. Apologies for the theme of this question, only that I have been told the sharia wise we are not required to investigate, but if we come to know we should abstain.
Jazaka Allah khairun,


wa `alaykum salam,

Soya sauce production includes a fermentation process since the beans are brewed with substances and cultures such as Aspergillus oryzae and other related microorganisms and yeasts. Generally food products that are brewed would have naturally occurring alcohol content after their incubation, depending on the amount of yeast or even the duration of the process, which may be negligible or even as much as 5%.

Where such minute alcohol data are concerned (and they may not even be reflected on the packages), you should enquire with the manufacturer to be certain. We do not make fatwas so any relevant data should be referred to a proper Shari`ah council for determine its status. If you are concerned with certain brands that may be shubhah (doubt), there are halal ones from Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore.

An healthier alternative to regular soya sauce is Bragg’s Fluid Aminos which are made from 100% non-GMO soya beans and purified water. It does not go through fermentation and also has lower sodium content.

You may refer to this article “Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce: There May be Alcohol in Your Fried Rice” as a general understanding.

Abdul Shakur

This entry was posted in Halal & Haram and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.