Are Muslims allowed to eat bear meat? If no, what else is forbidden for Muslims to eat and what is permitted Halal?
wa `alaykum salam,
Non-Halal animals are known as haram and cannot be eaten under any circumstances. Here are some haram animals (according to Hanafi school):
- Donkey (domesticated)
- Lizard (The Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) forbade the eating of a Lizard. Recorded by Imam Abu Dawud in his Sunan from `Abd al-Rahman ibn Shibl (Allah be pleased with him). Hadith no: 3790)
- Elephant (Radd al-Muhtar, 6/306)
- All insects, such as a Mosquito, Fly, Wasp, Spider, Beetle, etc.
Meats and animals we are permitted to eat…
- Stag (deer)
- Cow (including mountain cow)
- Fish (of all types, including prawns according to those who consider prawns to be a form of fish).
- Heron (grey or white wading bird with long neck and long legs and (usually) long bill).
- Partridge (heavy-bodied small-winged South American game bird)
- Lark (North American yellow-breasted songbirds)
Fish are totally halal i.e. permissible to eat.
Imam Senad Agic, Ph.D.
Head Imam (IABNA)
The Islamic Association of Bosniaks in North America